Widnes Build Up – Cougars Look For Cup Spoils

Widnes Vikings v Keighley Cougars Preview by Joshua Chapman (@Chapalar) in association with A1 Stairlifts.

After the Cougars five game undefeated streak was ended on Sunday by Halifax, the second of four games in a fortnight comes this Thursday.

And for the club as a whole, it is one of the biggest games in the recent history as the side travel to Widnes for the quarter finals of the Challenge Cup.

However, due to another quick turnaround for Tuesday’s league fixture away at Whitehaven, Paul March is set to make at least ten changes.

This means the likes of James Craven (Groin), Ash Lindsay (Leg) and many more of the Cougars regulars will have a well-earned breather.

Marchy will use the fixture to give those unable to break in so far a run out as well as welcoming back Scott Law (Shoulder) from injury.

The biggest of the numerous changes will come into the second row as Oliver Pursglove returns to action after not featuring since September due to his University studies.

The Cougars squad is as follows: Richie Barnett; Neil Cherryholme; Gavin Duffy; Charlie Eccleston; Lewis Graham; Luke Haigh; Sean Hesketh; Sean Kelly; Scott Law; Jack Lee; Josh Lynam; Ryan Patchett; Ross Peltier; Oliver Pursglove; Ben Sagar; Jesse Sheriffe; Jode Sheriffe; Ben Stead; Daley Williams

Widnes Vikings coach Dennis Betts has named a strong provisional squad for the tie this Thursday evening.
Despite being expected to make a number of changes like the Cougars, Betts has named the experienced duo of Kevin Brown and Danny Tickle amongst others.

Dennis has however left out former Warrington hooker Jon Clarke after the former Challenge Cup winner announced he will retire from the game following the conclusion of the current campaign.

But, the former Wigan second rower has also included a number of youngsters including the duo of Tom Gilmore and Dec Hulme who have spent the majority of the season on dual registration with the North Wales Crusaders.

The nineteen man squad named by Widnes is as follows: Dave Allen; Kevin Brown; Paul Clough; Danny Craven; Chris Dean; Danny Galea; Alex Gerrard; Tom Gilmore; Rhys Hanbury; Dec Hulme; Willie Isa; Paul Johnson; Ben Kavanagh; Adam Lawton; Macgraff Leuluai; Stefan Marsh; Jack Owens; Danny Tickle; Llyod White.

Leave a Reply