Cougars Announce 2018 Squad Numbers

The Keighley Cougars have today announced the first team squad numbers for the forthcoming 2018 League One season.

In an unprecedented move, Head Coach Craig Lingard stepped back from the squad number allocation process therefore allowing his players to decide the numbers amongst themselves under the watchful eye of Player Performance Manager Frank Levy and Head of Operations Joshua Chapman.

Harry Aaronson has allowed Ritchie Hawkyard to take the number 1 jersey in what will be Titch’s testimonial season with the young full-back opting to take the number 28 jersey with 28 representing Aaronson’s birthday.

Nathan Conroy takes the number 9 jersey following the retirement of James ‘Buster’ Feather making Conroy the first player other than Buster to take the 9 shirt since 2006.

Buster’s successor as captain Josh Tonks has opted to remain in the 18 jersey he wore in 2017 with Player of the Year Matthew Bailey and Man of Steel Brad Nicholson remaining in 19 and 29 respectively.

Hamish Barnes and Adam Ryder take 3 and 4 respecitvely whilst the vacant 10 jersey is taken by Trae O’Sullivan who made his loan move from Batley permanent during the off-season.

Amongst the new signings Benn Hardcastle takes 23, his squad number at previous club Newcastle, with Samir Tahraoui taking the 27 jersey, with 27 representing the Algerian born Prop Forward’s birthday.

The other numbers taken by off-season recruits sees Joe Lumb (14), Ryan Wright (15), Harvey Hallas (16), Cameron Leeming (17), Lewis Fairhurst (20), Liam Senior (22), Aaron Nicholson (26) and Billy Gaylor (30) take the respective jerseys.

Gavin Reed and Aidan Scully move into the 24 and 25 jerseys after making their first team debuts last season with Head Coach Craig Lingard handing both pay as you play deals for the 2018 campaign.

As always, the number 6 jersey remains retired in memory of Danny Jones.


1. Ritchie Hawkyard
Sponsored by Victoria Harrison Podiatry

2. Andy Gabriel
Sponsored by Ultimate Commercial Interiors

3. Hamish Barnes
Sponsored by John Barnes Organ Builders

4. Adam Ryder
Sponsored by A1 Stairlifts

5. Davey Dixon
Sponsored by G Moore & Company

7. Matty Beharrell
Sponsored by Airedale Shopping Centre

8. Scott Law
Sponsored by Bradley, Oliver & Aimee Foulds

9. Nathan Conroy
Sponsored by Mobility Technical Solutions

10. Trae O’Sullivan
Sponsored by KONE plc

11. Josh Lynam
Sponsored by ADNC Projects Ltd

12. Brendon Rawlins
Sponsored by David & Margaret Proctor

13. Mike Emmett
Sponsored by The Hudson Family

14. Joe Lumb
Sponsored by Debs, Robert & Reuben Balm

15. Ryan Wright
Sponsorship Available: Call 01535 606044 or email

16. Harvey Hallas
Sponsored by David Padans

17. Cameron Leeming
Sponsored by Easyhome Mobility

18. Josh Tonks (Captain)
Sponsored by Percy Vear Pub

19. Matthew Bailey
Sponsored by The Fun Bus

20. Lewis Fairhurst
Sponsored by Joshua & Freddie Chapman

21. Emmerson Whittel
Sponsored by A1 Stairlifts

22. Liam Senior
Sponsored by Airedale Shopping Centre

23. Benn Hardcastle
Sponsored by Clever Energy Boilers

24. Gavin Reed
Sponsorship Available: Call 01535 606044 or email

25. Aidan Scully
Sponsorship Available: Call 01535 606044 or email

26. Aaron Nicholson
Sponsorship Available: Call 01535 606044 or email

27. Samir Tahraoui
Sponsored by Spencer Fabrications

28. Harry Aaronson
Sponsored by Phil Robinson

29. Brad Nicholson
Sponsored by Maz & Hazel

30. Billy Gaylor
Sponsorship Available: Call 01535 606044 or email

Leave a Reply